Savings and Retail Banking Award 2019

The 2019 Edition of the Savings and Retail Banking Award has been launched !

The Award acknowledges academic work that addresses either the evolution of financial systems or savings in the community in general. WSBI-ESBG particularly encourages research into the history of savings and retail banks, and studies that address the day-to-day development and work of savings and retail banks.

Submissions to the Savings and Retail Banking History Award should be written in a clear, understandable, narrative style. They should be suitable for both publishing in academic/savings banks professional circles and study by a wider audience.

This edition particular attention will be give to historical research on financial literacy and Financial Education.

Entries must comply with the criteria laid out in the Official Rules, and must be submitted to WSBI-ESBG by email before 1 May 2019.

Applicants should address their submissions to the WSBI-ESBG-Secretariat for the attention of Ms Nancy Lockkamper, Archivist, and send them to

For practical information, please visit our dedicated website (

WSBI-ESBG will contact and announce the finalists before 30 June 2019.

The official Awarding Ceremony will be organised at the occasion of the next Financial History Workshop on 27 September 2019, in Vienna.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: